Reviews

What our guests have said...

Sloane★ ★ ★ ★ ★

April 2019

Steve and Rob were absolute gems as our hosts during our stay in wine country. Our favorite part about them is their values and how it translates into their business practice. As winemakers, they're very transparent, informative, and open about how their wine is produced, and they do it all themselves just the two of them! The same values of integrity, transparency, and kindness transcend into the way they run the b&b side of the business. Our communication was simple and easy and reliable, they were understanding and accommodating when travel plans got derailed or changed (since we were coming from Spain), and they answered every little question we had about them, their business, and their wine. And the wine was delicious, since we got a tasting and tour once we arrived. We're already thinking about when to come back next and who to bring. Staying with Steve & Rob was a huge highlight of our Europe trip! Thanks again, you two. S&B


Angela★ ★ ★ ★ ★

March 2019

Spotless , comfortable , perfect for a relaxing stay , surrounded by beautiful vineyards as far as the eye can see . Couldn’t have asked for better hosts , genuine and very welcoming.


Brenda★ ★ ★ ★ ★

March 2019

We liked the whole set up of the Gites in amongst the vines. The hosts were very sociable. Had a very informative talk on the process of wine making. Lovely comfortable bed. Will definitely return.


Richard★ ★ ★ ★ ★

March 2019

Parfait. Accueil au top et visite intéressante


Bronia★ ★ ★ ★ ★

March 2018

We absolutely loved staying here. Steve and Rob were so welcoming. The gite was lovely, sparkling clean and in the most beautiful surroundings of their artisan vineyard. It is a perfect location to explore the local area from!  We loved the vineyard tour and tasting offered by Steve, it was the most informative of all the tours that we did in the area and we thoroughly enjoyed learning about how Steve and Rob make their lovely wine (which we can attest is delicious!)  Highly recommended to anyone thinking of visiting the area!


Alana and Jeff★ ★ ★ ★ ★

February 2019

I would recommend this rental to anyone,  the space is smart, stylish and has everything you need. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is amazing. The surrounding roads are perfect for walking, with vineyards, charming houses and friendly neighbors. The tour of the winery was really interesting, we learned so much about the care and detail that goes into making good wine. The wine made at this vineyard is really good and as promised, I did not get a hangover, and I drank a lot lol. We did a taste test with several other local more expensive vintages and this was the best, in my opinion. We had a perfect weekend here, we will be back.


Simon and Sarah★ ★ ★ ★ ★

December 2018

Thank you for a lovely stay really enjoyed the wine tour, wine was excellent, host were very friendly and knowledgeable nothing was too much trouble, would highly recommend it if only to meet Branston and Pickle.


Carmel★ ★ ★ ★ ★

December 2018

Warm and welcoming, Steve and Rob are fantastic hosts. They took very good care of us and we will be going back as soon as we can! 


Jennifer★ ★ ★ ★ ★

November2018

What a fun experience! These newly renovated gites are equipped with everything you could want and more than you might expect. Located in a beautiful area of the countryside, it was great fun staying on a vineyard with those beautiful views all around, and taking a tour and tasting with Steve.  I loved learning about how Steve and Rob have turned their dreams into a successful reality, and with quality wine too! Everything was done with thought and care, including their communication, the lovely finishes in the gite, and the fantastic, and beautifully-presented breakfasts. Stay there-you'll be glad you did.


Mike★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

November 2018

New immaculately renovated gites very comfortable we had an amazing time touring the vineyard and seeing some of St emilion Stephen was so friendly and helpful. he made sure we were comfortable and breakfast was a delight. highly recommend staying here! would rate six stars if I could.


Ashley★ ★ ★ ★ ★

November2018

We spent two weeks in France and wish we'd spent more time at this beautiful place!  The hosts, Stephen and Rob, are very welcoming and friendly.  Rob gave us a tour of the winery, which we thoroughly enjoyed, so be sure to arrange for that.  Branston, the dog, was also the perfect host, and even joined us on a walk around the property, showing us a path in the woods to a gorgeous sunset view. :)  The gite contained everything we needed in all aspects, and since it is a newly-renovated space, everything feels crisp and fresh.  The bathroom is quite large, the shower has good pressure, and we never ran out of hot water.  The bedroom is also sizable and the bed is fairly comfortable.  The cable tv has both English and French stations, which we appreciated.  They have a list of recommended places to eat and shop that came in handy.  The location is easy to find (a car is absolutely needed), and it's convenient to several towns, including Saint Emilion, which was at the top of our agenda.  We highly recommend this place and hope to stay here again!


Mel★ ★ ★ ★ ★

November2018

Great place right in the middle of miles of vineyards. House is clean, stylishly decorated, and a bathroom to die for! Coupled with a detailed tour of the vineyard and easy access to some beautiful towns and restaurants - what else could you want?!


Lawrence★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October2018

We had a fantastic time at Steve and Rob's place;  lovely, stylish and spotlessly clean accommodation plus a really informative complimentary wine tour from Rob.  It was very interesting to get up close to an artisan vineyard and it's operation and the wine they produce is first class so we treated ourselves to (quite) a few bottles!  Wonderful experience, 10 out of 10!!


Adam★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

A truly wonderful experience that felt like a home away from home! Steve and Rob were very warm and kind hosts and went above and beyond to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. The setting is stunning and very peaceful. We particularly enjoyed taking a tour of the vineyard and learning about the history of the region. The Gites are very well set-up and beautifully decorated, the perfect place to relax in the evenings with a bottle of Clos Vieux Rochers wine! We also recommend the delicious breakfast.


Connie★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

We absolutely loved our stay for so many reasons. The location of the Gite and vineyard was peaceful, yet close to nearby towns and areas of interest. The space was comfortable, well equipped, and spotlessly clean. We actually cooked in many times during our 5 night stay. However, the best part of our stay was the hospitality of Steve and Rob. They were gracious and generous with their time as they gave us a vineyard tour and shared their story of bringing a neglected vineyard lovingly back to life! I am confident that our paths will cross again. Don’t hesitate-book!


Helen and Karen★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

Beautiful and peaceful rural location.  Exceptionally clean, stylish and functional Gite.  Lovely comfortable beds and a most welcome “welcome pack” that both fed and revived us when we arrived so indecently late (so sorry Steve!).  We ordered breakfast to be delivered on the first morning and it was delicious, plentiful and good value.  Steve and Rob were the perfect hosts and we enjoyed some good chats, a most interesting vineyard tour and wine tasting and playing boules.  We also enjoyed their lovely homemade jams with the lovely French bread and chutney with the French cheeses.  Special mention to Branston, who took us for walkies around the property and vineyard and Pickle who delighted with his presence.  Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing holiday in this little corner of paradise.  We cannot wait to return. 


Melanie★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

Enjoyed our stay so much, beautiful and cosy. Steve and Rob extremely helpful, helped us organise train journey to Arcachon and recommended local restaurants. They organised breakfast for us the first morning but everything is there for self catering. Spotless and comfortable , our own outside area, barbecue available on request. It's a great base to visit Bordeaux, Bergerac and St Emillion. We would recommend 


Michael and Gwyneth★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

Both Steve and Rob were so helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the local area.


Stuart★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

You have created a fantastic location and experience. Service was high quality and you both made us feel very welcome. 


Garry★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

A very purposeful accommodation set amongst vineyards create a memorable ambiance.


Valerie and Elizabeth★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

Lots of excellent in depth knowledge an interesting retirement project which looks like hard work, it’s worth having the free tour to really understand the history of the area.  Really welcoming and friendly owners who could recommend things to do in the area that suited us.

Beautiful Gite, lots of space generous shower room, clean modern but cosy decoration.  Enjoyed that we could watch British tv at night with a glass of the excellent red wine produced at the vineyard.  It’s the first time I’ve enjoyed red wine so much.


Marcus★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

Personal welcome and attention.  Excellent, informative tour and degustation hosted by Steve.  Warm welcome on arrival from Rob.  Couple of great walks round the vineyard with Branston.  Pickle, we saw, but was mainly busy doing his own thing.  Lovely BBQ on sunny, October T-shirt 'n' shorts weather on last evening.  Nothing too much trouble.  You are guaranteed a great experience of a vineyard with honestly and carefully produced wine.  Try some!  It hasn't travelled far!  Thank you again, Steve and Rob.  What you have achieved is tremendous - both locally - in and for your community - and for us, your guests. 


Tracey★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

Very friendly and attentive hosts. We enjoyed every moment of our stay.


Robert and Lisa★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

Great place and even better hosts and Oh and the wine is fab!!!


Diane and Paul★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

Friendly, eager and nothing too much trouble.
Knowledgeable & amusing trip through the vines  & the cellars.


Marcus and Judith★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.  It was great to meet Steve and Rob - and of course, Branston and Pickle!   We had lovely October weather and enjoyed the surroundings of the vineyard and countryside.  Delightful little villages nearby with cosy, local restaurant/bars, where you could just picture Rene behind the bar with Yvette appearing at any moment!


Elizabeth★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

Steve and Rob made us feel very welcome and were very helpful. They take pride in what they do and this shows in their establishment and their enthusiasm for what they do.


Nigel and Carol★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

Robert and Stephen were the most perfect hosts.
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in their beautiful courtyard cottages.
It was most enjoyable to have our delicious breakfasts delivered each morning by either of them.
Roberts presentation of the vineyard and wine production was informative and well received and Stephens information of places to eat and visits was second to none.
All in all we can thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.,nothing was too much trouble.


Sue and Allan★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

Thank you Steve and Rob.
You were perfect hosts during our recent 4 nights at Clos Vieux Rochers. Congratulations on creating a wonderful place for your guests to stay.
The rooms,breakfast and your wine.Excellent
Thank you to Branston for taking us on a lovely walk.


Ron and Brenda★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

Everything about our four night stay at Clos Vieux Rochers was first class, Robert and Steven (and Branston!) were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We would 100% recommend a stay at the cottages to anyone.


Derek★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

Had a wonderful week with Rob and Steve, September 2018,they have done a fabulous job on the Gites. The wine tour was very informative and you can see they both share the same enthusiasm and knowledge for the profession.  This is a lovely place to stay,lovely open countryside,walks in all directions.We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with Rob and Steve two of the nicest people  you are likely to come across.


Rob★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

Excellent hosts, both Rob & Steven were very friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. 


Sean and Jo★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Clos Vieux Rochers Vineyard for a few days. It was all that I expected and more.

Both Steve and Rob were fabulous hosts and made every effort to make sure our stay was perfect, which it was. They both had a great sense of humour and made every effort to engage.

The wine tour was extremely interesting and honest. Both Sean and I who had no knowledge certainly know more now and what to look for.

There is an option to book breakfast which is delivered to your door and was extremely good and value for money.

The walks around their vineyards were lovely and we were accompanied by a four legged tour guide, Steve and Rob’s dog (Branston) what a star he was.

The location is ideal for visiting Bordeaux, Bergerac and Saint-Émilion. We look forward to returning next year.


Steve★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

The accomodation was clean well maintained and to a high standard. Both Rob and Steve could not do more to make our stay better


George★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

Nice location, good wine, fantastic service.  Steve and Rob are the best host you can imagine. Very helpful. 


Gill★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

Our stay at Clos Vieux Rochers was all that we hoped for and more. Standard of the accommodation was absolutely first class, Steve and Rob were fantastic hosts and the location and scenery were breathtaking. A very informative vineyard tour and wine tasting meant we spent our evenings enjoying excellent wine in the company of the other guests. Our hosts seemed very happy to sit with us and share their experience of setting up and running a top class vineyard gite. We will return. 


Ian★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

Loved the location. The Gite was excellent. Great to meet and chat to Steve & Rob and also great to meet Branston & Pickle ! Very good breakfast at extra cost but definitely worth it and really pleased we had time to join Rob for one of his vineyard talks. 


Annette★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

We received an excellent welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The gite was spotless and very tastefully furnished.  The welcome pack provided was very thoughtful.  The bed was comfortable.  We had a relaxing and very enjoyable stay. 


Eamonn★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2108

Excellent friendly hosts. Always have time for their guests.


Isabella and Drew ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

A wonderful place to rest and also to explore surrounding areas. The accommodation was clean and well equipped great to have English tv and WiFi.
We took the vineyard tour which was very interesting and both Steve & Rob made us feel very welcome.


Carolyne and Pat★ ★ ★ ★ ★

August 2018

Clos Vieux Rochers Cottage was just lovely, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.  Steve and Rob are charming hosts, friendly without being intrusive. We had a great time! We loved the delicious breakfasts and enjoyed a really great vineyard tour.  Confirmation of wine delivery came within a day of our return home. Will recommend this lovely holiday to family and friends and hope to return!


Lynn★ ★ ★ ★ ★

August 2018

We arrived on the Friday evening absolutely exhausted after a busy time at work.   Steve was very welcoming and the accommodation was idyllic.  Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean I would happily have stayed in the gite and not moved all of the weekend.  The roll-topped bath in the gorgeous bathroom was a dream to relax in.  Loved Saturday's breakfast followed by Steve's wine tour which was very educational in the best possible way. Steve and Rob are amazing hosts who care very much about their guests and products.  Can't recommend it highly enough.  Thank for a great couple of days! 


Stéphane★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2018

belle propriété au milieu des vignes, le logement est décoré avec goût, très confortable et très propre. merci a Stephen pour la dégustation et ses explications . et merci a Rob pour pour ses conseils de visite dans la région.


Alexander ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
August 2018
After a busy start to the holiday this was just what we needed. The cottage was like a 5 star hotel sheer luxury with lovely little touches like the bread and cheese and little toiletries in the bathroom. It was also lovely and cool inside the old stone walls with the 36 degree heat! The setting is fantastic very private and quiet. Our hosts were great and we learnt lots about wine we didn't know. Can thoroughly recommend. Would recommend the breakfast too, beautiful!

Magpie ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
July 2018

Steve and Rob are fantastic hosts and make you feel welcome the minute you arrive. The accommodation is first class and the wine tour is very informative. The wine itself is reasonably priced and very drinkable and we came away with a few bottles. Rob said to keep some back a year or so. Fat chance of that. Special mention to Branston who led us on a walk through the woods and brought us back safely. We can definitely recommend Clos Vieux Rochers!


Geoff & Catherine ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

July 2018

Just had the best and most relaxing trip ever.
We were celebrating my girlfriends birthday and couldn't have spent it in a better place. Steve and Rob were amazing, their minor celebrity status certainly hasn't gone to their heads! Despite being busy with the vineyard and gites they always have time for their guests. Steve even did his best to be gracious in defeat when I regularly beat him at pétanque ;).
They gave us tips on where to go and where to eat locally (Steve also told me where to go after my pétanque victories but that's another story...).
Rob's vineyard tour was both educating and entertaining and their wine is delicious!
The gites are finished to a high spec and spotlessly clean.
We will certainly return. In fact, Steve has insisted we do as he's thirsty for pétanque revenge!


Steve & Julie ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

July 2018

Having watched Channel 4 (UK), "a new life in the sun", we had no hesitation in immediately making a booking. On arrival the location, was everything it had promised to be, and more importantly the accommodation surpassed our already high expectations. The "jewel(s) in the crown", however, were Rob and Steve themselves, who are truly great guys, with nothing being too much trouble, always willing to go the extra mile, and then some. Totally relaxing and we will be returning next year.


Jane ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

June 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Clos Vieux Rochers. The cottage was beautifully presented and spotless, in very peaceful surroundings amongst the the vineyards. Rob and Steve were excellent hosts - friendly, helpful and very approachable. We had a very interesting tour of the vineyard complete with wine tasting and an enjoyable game of petanque with the other guests in the evening sun. I would have no hesitation in recommending Clos Vieux Rochers to friends and family and we are looking forward to a return visit next year.


Russell & Amanda ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

June 2018

We received a lovely welcome at Clos Vieux Rochers and had a fascinating tour of the fermentation process and a wine tasting that same day. Highly recommend the tour as its a great introduction to the vineyard and an insight into everything that Steve and Rob are about.
The high standards and principles of their wine production are carried over into their lovely accommodation. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Cottage especially sitting outside in the evening sunshine watching the birds and sipping their wine - we left with several boxes! Looking forward to a revisit!


Raymond ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

May 2018

The wine is excellent and we have just tasted the jam they make too. You need to buy some and you won’t be disappointed.
The gites are immaculately clean and tasteful decor.
Even Branson the dog is chilled.


Mark & Sheila ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

May 2018

Rob and Steve (Branston the dog and Pickle the cat) are everything you, the traveler, would want hosts to be. Welcoming, informative, approachable and very good company. They have thought of all the small details to make your holiday as relaxed as it can be...right down to the bread milk cheese and water in the gite for when we arrived.
The gites are superb, immaculately clean and furnished to a very high standard. Steve provided a lovely continental breakfast at a time of our choosing every morning.. highly recommended.
Oh and I suppose we should mention the wines produced by Rob and Steve, beats all the 'grand cru' wines hands down! Steve's tip on how wine should be 'tasted' was a real education. You will be taking some home!
Can't wait to go back! Thanks Rob and Steve for everything.
Tips for other travellers
The vineyard itself and the tour/tasting is a real highlight. To be part of a working vineyard was an experience not to be missed.
St Emilion is a must as is Duras.
Runners , walkers and cyclists take note, this is a fantastic area to indulge your passion. Miles of empty roads and trails through the vineyards, undulating beautiful countryside.


Marcia ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

May 2018

Soon after our arrival at Steve and Rob’s lovely home we were given a tour of their vineyard and a tasting of their wine. Both were an essential preparation for our visit the next day to Saint-Emilion, home to several of the big producers in the area. Afterwards Branston, the family dog, took on us for a walk in the woods bordering the property.

The apartment was spacious, clean and well-equipped. Cheese, milk, and a baguette were waiting for us when we arrived. That rarest of luxuries in a rental place, sharp knives, were provided, as well as a laundry service, which mercifully saved us an afternoon feeding coin-operated machines. Steve and Rob were extraordinarily helpful, as well as interesting to talk to about their experience in moving to France.

We enthusiastically recommend Clos Vieux Rochers as a base for your exploration of the wine country near Bordeaux.
Tips for other travellers
Definitely do the wine tour of Clos Vieux Rochers with Steve before heading out to do tastings in the area. We learned a lot and really enjoyed the wine as well.

For lunch in Saint-Emilion we ended up going to the Cafe Saigon (the Cloistre was under repair) and enjoyed our meal their very much. Seemed like much better value than some of the other places in town, which were tourist-priced.


Mario & Francis ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
April 2018

Fabulous stay. Very welcoming, expert advise, amazing wine, beautiful, crisp white linen & towels. Breakfast presentation, variety & service with more than enough per person. Would recommend without any hesitation. Seen on T.V. but everything was well beyond our expectations. Steve and Rob could not do enough for us. Everything they suggested was top-notch. From visits to restaurants to wine tasting. Bed sheets smell beautiful. Would most definitely recommend & return to this 5 star accommodation. Thank you, Steve & Rob for making this holiday so enjoyable for us.


Manon ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
February 2018

Encore une fois une très bon accueil, un plaisir de revenir !


Elizabeth ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

January 2018

Lovely Gite in the Vineyards.” Lovely, comfortable gite accommodation in the vineyards close to Saint Emilion and other areas of the Bordeaux region. The owners are very welcoming - provided a vineyard tour and tasting and other useful information to make your stay easy and memorable. Would definitely stay again.


Jérémy ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

January 2018

Nous avons passé un super séjour. Les hôtes sont très accueillants, la dégustation proposée et la visite de leur domaine viticole est un plus. L'appartement est décoré avec gout, très propre, conforme aux photos, et très bien équipé. La salle de bain est magnifique. L'extérieur p…Lire la suite


Pierre-Jean ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
November 2017

Parfait


Natlie ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

November 2017

Propreté et accueil à l’anglaise : parfait !


Blake ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2017

A great relaxing stay at a reasonable price! Would highly recommend to anyone travelling by car!”
The property in located in a fairly remote area but only 10 min drive to St Emilion.  The property has a beautiful friendly dog and the owners were so eager to tell us about their progress and history withy the property. Was an absolute pleasure and our best accommodation this trip.  Such a comfy bed!!

Stayed in October 2017


Rene ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
October 2017

Great place, great host and in the middle of a vineyard. Thank you Stephen and Roberto for your hospitality


Dan ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

October 2017

Great place to relax and unwind. Beautiful sunsets and tasty wines to enjoy them with. Recommended to do your shopping pre-arrival as there aren’t any stores nearby.


Jen ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

September 2017

Lovely accommodation - spacious, well-equipped and superb condition. Very pleasant hosts who were very accommodating (pardon the pun). Quiet and serene, beautiful outlook. Would definitely return!


Chris ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

August 2017

I am fortunate to have travelled extensively and have stayed in some really nice places around the world - occasionally however I stay in a place that ticks all the right boxes and provides a truly memorable experience - Clos Vieux Rochers is one of those rare places.
The location is excellent, in a quiet rural location, but only 15 min away from St Emilion and around 45 min to the city of Bordeaux (depending on traffic!). There are numerous Chateau and wine farms in the area, many offering degustation and tours.
The accommodation itself is absolutely top notch and offers excellent value - the property has been beautifully restored by hosts Rob and Steve, whose experience in the hospitality industry is very evident.  The accommodation offers the standard expected of a nice hotel, but with the convenience of self catering and the intimacy of staying on a wine farm with only 4 rooms.  I have many pleasant memories of our stay - the personal wine tasting on arrival, playing boules with the hosts (or whatever the French equivalent is called), barbecuing outside with the vineyards as a backdrop, watching a spectacular lightning display from the patio while sampling the Clos Vieux Rochers wines, and the tour of the winery, amongst others.
We loved St Emilion and surrounding area, and spent a couple of very pleasant days cycling and walking around the area (and sampling the wines of course).  Rob and Steve were amazing hosts and we felt very privileged to be able to spend some time on their quiet little piece of paradise.
All in all fantastic - just book it.


Matthew ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
August 2017

Stephen and Rob were the perfect hosts! So friendly and have such a beautiful vineyard and quaint cottages for their guests. Looks exactly like the pictures and even more picturesque in person. The wines were fantastic as well and close to so much that wine country has to offer! Definitely would come back again.


Robin ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
August 2017

This place is amazing. It is a duplex so you have a living room with adjacent kitchen downstairs and a bedroom and bathroom upstairs. It is really cozy and provides all you need. We had a tour around the vineyards from Steve and he explained the wine making process. We enjoyed a lot the great conversations with Steve and Rob until late in the evening. They are really great hosts, very friendly and witty. The breakfast was also very nice and you can take it in the courtyard in front of the room. Greatly recommended!


Jon ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
August 2017

This is impeccable hosting. Conscientious, kind, warm, and professional. Highly recommended.


Khrist K  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
July 2017

Beautifully renovated with kept character and charm. Fantastic hosts!
Staying at Stephen and Rob's beautifully renovated property was an absolute delight and we only wished we could've stayed longer. They were very friendly and kind, we loved their vineyard tour and wine tasting, the beautiful decor, the breakfast with their homemade jam, and chatting to them. An incredible find, in a stunning location, with the best hosts! Highly recommend if ever in France.


Elisabeth ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
July 2017

Très bon accueil, chaleureux, grande disponibilité. Lieu très calme au milieu des vignes


Grainne ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
July 2017

In a word-wonderful! Beautifully renovated gites, tastefully decorated and so comfortable. The location of the vineyard is perfect, private but a close drive to Pomerol, St Emilion and other vineyards. Steve and Rob are great hosts, warm and welcoming and lots of good advice on local amenities. Couldn't recommend this more- a fantastic find.


Jens ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
July 2017

Wunderschöne Unterkunft in malerischem Weingebiet! Die Verständigung mit den Gastgebern hat reibungslos funktioniert. Wir wurden freundlich mit Baguette und Camombert begrüßt. Das Appartement entsprach mehr als unseren Vorstellungen. Sehr modern und sauber. Zum Abschluss konnten wir sogar noch Wein aus eigener Herstellung kaufen. Bis zu den wunderschönen Dünen von Pyla sind es 2 Autostunden, bis nach Bordeaux 1 Autostunde. Beides in einem Tagestrip möglich (straffes Programm). Leider waren wir nur auf der Durchreise. Das Gebiet eignet sich perfekt für Weinverköstigungen oder leckere Abendessen. Wir können diese Unterkunft wärmstens empfehlen! Thank you guys for a wonderful stay at your place!


Dave ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
July 2017
Wine Tour

We visited Rob and Steve for a wine tour and they showed us round the newly renovated apartments. You can tell that a lot of heart and soul went into the design. They are lovely guys and really take their wine making seriously. I left with a truly amazing feeling. Such a personal and amazing experience. I would highly recommend a stay here. The 2015 Red and the Rose they produce are sublime!


Gita ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
June 2017

The gites was impeccably designed and up to the utmost modern 5 star hotel standards. Believe it or not, this was not the best part of our visit. Steve and Rob were great hosts and welcomed us like old friends and provided all that made this an amazing stay from the late Sunday dinner reservation at Le Terrasse Rouge to the fresh bread daily breakfast "delivered" to our door. We got a wine making tour like no other. Private and detailed, from the growing to the bottling. Their love of wine making is clearly evident in their passion to resurrect a dying vineyard and turning it into one of the highest rated premier vineyards in the Castillion Cotes De Bordeux to put St. Emillion wine makers in the back seat. Can't say enough. We would definitely go back when in Bordeux and wouldn't consider anywhere else. Oh yes, and the dynamic duo are TV celebrities featured in TV4s "A New Life In The Sun" series. Not sure how much longer this corner of paradise will be available to us commoners. You can't go wrong with Clos Vieux Rochers!


Neil and Carol ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
June 2017

Fabulous place with great hosts. Still enjoying the wine. Cheers
rom the moment we arrived at Clos Vieux Rochers Steve and Rob made us really welcome and proved to be excellent hosts. The property was beautifully presented and maintained to a very high standard. We had booked for four nights, however with this standard of accommodation and it's proximity to Saint Emilion and Bordeaux we elected to stay for a further two nights. We learned so much from the tour of the vineyard and just loved tasting the fine wines. We have very fond memories of our stay and would recommend that anyone visiting this area should take the opportunity to stay at this beautiful property. We will definitely be returning.
Best wishes Neil and Carol


Allan and Barbara ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
June 2017

The quality of the gites is first class, in decor, space and facilities. Added to this is the warm and friendly attitude of the hosts making your stay so enjoyable. The icing on the cake is the tour of the vineyard, explanation of the wine making process and the tasting of the various wines. If you are looking for a base to explore the wine regions of Bordeaux, St Emiliion and the Dordogne , this is the place to stay.


Pierre ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
May 2017

Nous avons ete super bien accuili par Robert et Stephen. Le logement est de super qualité, spacieux et l'emplacement tres calme et reposant. Il peut etre adapte pour des sejours un peu long. Pour les amateurs de vin vous etes au milieu d'une petite exploitation et nous avons eu le droit a une visite avec explication et une degustation. Malgré l'accent anglais leur francais est très comprehensible et même si vous parlez anglais ils font l'effort de vous repondre en français donc aucune crainte a avoir dessus. Ils sont egalement de très bon conseil sur les endroits oú aller manger et visiter. Nous serions heureux d'y retourner si l'occasion se presente.


DC ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
May 32017

Total Perfection!
From the moment we turned into the driveway, Steve and Rob attended to our our every need. We were treated to drinks on arrival, tours of the vineyard, wine tastings, good times and lots of laughs. A truly amazing stay - total food for the soul.
The gîtes are newly revovated, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and with beautiful views across the vines.
I can't recommend this place enough. Nestled in some of the most beautiful wine country I've ever seen, close to neighbouring towns and only a short drive to Saint Emilion. This is Bordeaux at its very best! I can't wait to return.


Peter and Eileen  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
May 2017

Thanks !
Having followed Steve and Rob's adventure on the tv, we decided to call into Clos Vieux Rochers on our way back from a holiday in Spain. Despite our unplanned visit, Steve and Rob welcomed us into their home, and gave us a very interesting and informative tour of their land and production area. Even Branston the dog offered us a friendly welcome, and was happy to entertain our dog. Having sampled and purchased their excellent wine, we continued our journey. Many thanks to Steve and Rob for your hospitality at such short notice last week, and good luck for the future.
Regards, Pete, Eileen & IzzyShow less


Claude and Jacqueline ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
May  2017

For bike and wine lovers
We spent 3 lovely days at Rob and Steve's Clos Vieux Rochers. They are both wonderful hosts, very attentive to all of our needs and yet respectful of our privacy. They are passionate with their new life : running a B&B and producing Bordeaux wine. What a challenge ! The apartments are perfectly set up, brand new, decorated in a modern and fancy way. Great view on the lovely courtyard and on the vineyards. Clos Vieux Rochers is relatively secluded, but bike riding to the small village of Puisseguin takes 10 minutes and from there, 30 more minutes bring you into St Emilion through the vineyards, on small little roads with no traffic. Wine tasting at Rob and Steve's place as well as chatting with them after dinner as the sun sets was a definite plus. All the best and full success to you two. Claude and Jacqueline


Jenny ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
May 2017

Brilliant hospitality
We had the privilege of being the first guests in these wonderful gites. Rob and Steve went above and beyond to make our stay one of the best we had in France. Everything you could want was provided in the gites and the bed and bedding was very comfortable. Waking up to the sun rising over the vineyards in the morning was spectacular. Rob and Steve are great hosts and I would recommend this accomodation to all. If I return to France I will be sure to stay here again.


Trolley ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
May  2017

Fabulous place, friendly hosts 😊
My husband & I stayed at this fabulous vineyard last week & thoroughly enjoyed it.
The accommodation is top class & immaculate, the hosts Steve & Rob & their dog (Branston) are adorable
Their wine is first rate & the fresh pastries for breakfast are delicious too
They were more than happy to show us how they make the wine which we found extremely interesting.
I highly recommend a stay here if you're in the area & a trip to Saint Emillion is a must.
We can't wait to go back again very soon


Marie ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
April 2017

“Nous avons aimé la situation du gîte à proximité de Puisseguin et dans les vignes. Bien au calme ! Nous avons également apprécié l'accueil des propriétaires, très courtois et très soucieux de notre bien-être durant le séjour. Le logement est très bien équipé, décoré avec goût et d'une propreté parfaite. Nous avons pu visiter leur chai et goûter leur production de vins. Le petit-déjeûner est copieux et excellent. Rien à redire c'était un choix judicieux.”


Patrick ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
April 2017

“Tout était parfait. Des hôtes très accueillants et très sympathiques. Appartement design, calme, très propre avec une cuisine moderne, bien équipée, une salle de bain propre et très bien équipée aussi et pour finir une chambre avec un lit très confortable...”★ ★ ★ ★ ★Thank you Steve and Rob.
You were perfect hosts during our recent 4 nights at Clos Vieux Rochers. Congratulations on creating a wonderful place for your guests to stay.
The rooms.breakfast and your wine..Excellent
Thank you to Branston for taking us on a lovely walk.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.  It was great to meet Steve and Rob - and of course, Branston and Pickle!   We had lovely October weather and enjoyed the surroundings of the vineyard and countryside.  Delightful little villages nearby with cosy, local restaurant/bars, where you could just picture Rene behind the bar with Yvette appearing at any moment!


image41